Also, seek the peace and prosperity of the city to which I have carried you into exile. Pray to the LORD for it, because if it prospers, you too will prosper. – Jer 29:7

From: The Ten Greatest Revivals Ever

Will you not revive us again, that Your people may rejoice in You? – PSALM 85:6

Which of the Ten Greatest Revivals most influenced your ministry and why?

Bill Bright
Campus Crusade for Christ, Orlando, Florida

All of the revivals have influenced my life. I would consider the most important ones to bePentecost, the Protestant Reformation, and the Second Great Awakening.

Gerald Brooks
Grace Outreach Center, Plano, Texas

It was the Jesus Movement that reached me. This revival was characterized by a move of God that went beyond the existing paradigms of the established church. It brought thegospel to unusual places and unconventional people. Though unwelcome in traditionalchurches, these young people whom God had touched were warmly embraced by Chuck Smith and the other leaders of the Jesus movement. Thank God for revival!

David Yonggi Cho
The Full Gospel Church, Seoul, Korea

To me, the three most important revivals are the 1857 Laymen’s Prayer Revival, the 1904Revival, and the 196570 Baby Boomer Revival. The 1904 Revival swept the whole of Korea and established Korea as a Christian country in the Far East.

Robert Coleman
Billy Graham Center Institute of Evangelism, Wheaton, Illinois

It was during the post World War II period in 1950 that I first experienced revival. I was a student at Asbury Seminary when a spontaneous revival came to the college, and I was one who knelt at the altar to receive a deeper experience with the Holy Spirit, which heightened my understanding of the supernatural workings of God. Since that time I have witnessed a number of powerful movements of the Spirit in various parts of the world, all of whichhave contributed to a yearning in my soul for a mighty world revival and the fulfillment of the Great Commission.

James O. Davis
National Evangelism Director, Assemblies of God, Springfield, Missouri

I believe the most important revival took place on the Day of Pentecost. Indeed thisPentecostal revival has radically impacted my ministry because it fostered the foundationnecessary to birth, build, and broaden a “Holy Spirit outpouring” in our world today. On the Day of Pentecost, the roles and goals of revival were actualized through evangelizing the sinner, equipping the saint, and exalting the Savior. Pentecost moved the early church from sitting to standing and from weakness to witness. We are still experiencing the influence and impact of this mountain-moving, devil-defying, life-changing revival.

Lewis Drummond
Beeson Divinity School, Birmingham, Alabama

The most influential revival in my experience was the World War II Revival, 1935-50. It was not because of its profundity compared to other great awakenings, but rather because it was in that context that I began my ministry and became aware of what revival truly is. Therevivalist who most influenced my early ministry is Charles G. Finney. I do not see either asthe most significant in the entire history of the church, but they personally impacted memost profoundly.

Dale Galloway
Asbury Theological Seminary, Wilmore, Kentucky

Without a doubt the greatest influenceon my life was Billy Graham and the crusade he did in Columbus, Ohio, in the early 1960s. I had been brought up on camp meetings and had experienced revivals because of my Nazarene background, but the crusade was one of the foundational events of my life.There I saw for the first time Dr. Graham effectively reaching people of all ages, races, and backgrounds.

Eddie Gibbs
Fuller Theological Seminary, Pasadena, California

Each of these ten revivals was significant in its own way. In terms of the worldwide advanceof the gospel, I believe that the 1904 revival has made the greatest impact, withPentecostalism becoming the third great force in Christendom. I believe that the secondmost influential revival would be the Laymen’s Prayer Revival because of its urban impact and lay initiative.

Jack Hayford
The Church on the Way, Van Nuys, California

The revivalists that have most influenced my ministry are John Wesley (because of hispassion and intellect, joined with crystal clear clarity in focus), Aimee Semple McPherson(because of the mighty miracles, the multitudes that she evangelized, and the globalevangelistic movement that was born), and Billy Graham (because of his steadfastness inBible-centered preaching, his constancy in integrity, and his creativity in reaching themasses as well as shaping leaders).

Charles Kelly
New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary, New Orleans, Louisiana

The revival that most influenced my ministry was the Baby Boomer Revival. I saw and wasa part of a dramatic movement of God on my college campus. It taught me forever that God can do profound, amazing things and that there is no environment the power of Godcannot change. George Whitefield is the revivalist who most influenced me. God used hishard work, deep praying, and forceful, eloquent preaching to stir two nations in a mighty way.

D. James Kennedy
Coral Ridge Presbyterian Church, Fort Lauderdale, Florida

We have gone from approximately 20,000 converts per day worldwide in 1980 toapproximately 200,000 per day by the end of this year. This has been the largest ingathering in the history of the church and the only one that I have had the opportunity of being personally involved with.

Ron Phillips
Pastor, Central Baptist Church, Hixson, Tennessee

Having been a student of the Cane Ridge Revival and its impact, especially on Baptists inTennessee and Kentucky, I found myself transported by the description of those campmeetings in chapter three. Having been in a revival atmosphere for nearly six years, ourchurch has experienced many of the manifestations so described.

Alvin Reid
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, North Carolina

The Jesus Movement in the 1970s made a radical impact on my life. I came to Christ during that period. I have never gotten over what God did in those days, transforming hippie freaks into Jesus freaks! Much of my ministry is devoted to spiritual awakenings. Nodoubt my hunger for a mighty outpouring of God’s Spirit began in those days.

Chuck Smith
Calvary Chapel of Costa Mesa, Santa Ana, California

The revivalist who most influencedmy ministry is Billy Graham. He sets a great example of integrity and humility and fiscalresponsibility. His message is clear and straightforward: All men have sinned and God hasprovided only one remedy, the shed blood of his Son, Jesus Christ. Through his Schoolson Evangelism, he has sought to pass on the torch to thousands of others.

Tommy Tenney
Evangelist, Pineville, Louisiana

The revival that most influenced my life would be the 1904 Azusa Street Revival. My family’s denominational background descends directly from Azusa. On the other hand, therevival that most influenced my ministry was the World War II Hebrides Revival. Reading the accounts and even listening to rare tapes of Duncan Campbell have had incredibleimpact upon me. Duncan Campbell said that 75 percent of the conversions in theHebrides Revival happened outside a church setting. If we are to reach this “unchurched”generation, that’s the kind of revival I want to see in my day-a revival that isn’t confined within the walls of a church but that flows into the bars, shopping malls, and streets of our cities.

C. Peter Wagner
World Prayer Center, Colorado Springs, Colorado

The pentecostal revival at the beginning of the twentieth century has influenced my ministry more than any of the others on the list. When I first went to Bolivia as a missionary, I was anti-pentecostal. But over the years, because of the vitality of the pentecostal churches in Latin America, I began to experiencea paradigm shift in my ministry so that the Third Person of the Trinity became a reality rather than just a shadow cast by the Second Person of the Trinity. Now I see fruit in my ministry that would have been inaccessible to me had not those early pioneers paid the price and allowed the revival fire to burn.

Steve Wingfield
Evangelist, Harrisonburg, Virginia

My life and ministry have been impacted by a number of these revivals. For instance, where would we be without the Protestant Reformation? I was reared in the home of anold-time Methodist minister, so I thank God for the First Great Awakening and the birth of Methodism. Men such as Jonathan Edwards, Peter Cartwright, Charles Finney, Dwight Moody, and Billy Graham, who were raised up as spiritual leaders in different revivals, have greatly influenced my life and ministry. I gave my life to Christ in the midst of the Baby Boomer Revival in 1970. Words cannot describe what God did in my life during those days.

Comments on: "Which of the Ten Greatest Revivals most influenced your ministry and why?" (3)

  1. […] Which of the Ten Greatest Revivals most influenced your ministry and why? […]

  2. […] are some details of revival history listing 10 revivals and the revival lessons learned from […]

  3. […] are some details of revival history listing 10 revivals and the revival lessons learned from […]

Please take a moment to share this page on Google+, Facebook and Twitter. Email it to your friends. Sharing is caring.

Tag Cloud

